Thursday, 16 November 2017


Elora Danan were an Australian alternative rock band from Perth, Western Australia, formed in late 2006 from various other bands in the local scene who had ended including As A Weapon and Alleged. They took their name from a baby character in the 1988 film Willow. The band's first recordings were some early demos, simply titled "Demo 2006". The release featured two songs, "Stop It, Stop Breathing!", and "I Feel Like Saying More". The second song was featured on a Boomtown sampler, and the first song was later re-recorded. After recording the demo in late 2006 the band signed to Boomtown Records, releasing their first official record, the EP We All Have Secrets in mid-2007. The song "Stop It, Stop Breathing!" from the demo was reborn as "Thank God For Their Growth In Faith And Love" on the EP, with the only differences being a piano outro at the end of "Thank God...", making it almost two minutes longer than the original version. All other songs on the EP were based on films.

In mid-2008 the band recorded their first and only studio album entitled In the Room Up There. The album was released 6 March 2009 and was produced by Adam Spark, guitarist/producer of Birds of Tokyo. Around the time of this recording the band became a six-piece with the addition of guitarist Tim Marley. The recording was finished in August 2008; however, there was an eight-month delay in its release. The band played many shows with big bands in their short time of formation including local favorites and international bands including The Getaway Plan, In Fiction, Behind Crimson Eyes, Unwritten Law, Sprung Monkey, New Found Glory and Saosin The band also played on the local spot at the Soundwave festival in 2009, alongside Nine Inch Nails, Alice in Chains, Bloodhound Gang, The Subways and Underoath. On 29 May 2009, Elora Danan announced on their MySpace page that they had disbanded. 


George Green (vocals) Isaac Kara (vocals, guitar, piano) Ryan Smith (guitar) Tim Marley (guitar)
Matt Thomas (bass) Jay Rendle O’Shea (drums) Caleb Baker (drums) 



No comments:

Post a Comment