Wednesday, 29 March 2017


Jon Stevens was born in Upper Hutt, New Zealand where he used to play rugby league. He formed his first band while at Heretaunga College. Stevens released his debut studio album Jezebel on CBS Records in 1980. It peaked at number seven on the New Zealand charts and was certified Gold. He moved to Australia in 1981 and subsequently became an Australian citizen. In 1982, a self-titled album was released, but was not successful. In 1983, Stevens formed the band The Change with guitarist Stuart Fraser. Over the next few years, additional members were added before renaming themselves as Noiseworks in 1986.
In 1986, Stevens became the lead singer of the Sydney band Noiseworks. The band released three platinum studio albums between 1987 and 1991, with a greatest hits released in 1992. The band had three top ten singles across that time, those being "Take Me Back", "Touch" and "Hot Chilli Woman" In 1992, Stevens played the role of Judas in the Australian production of Jesus Christ Superstar. A cast recording album was released in July 1992, which peaked at number one and was the highest selling album in Australian in 1992. 
In 1993, Stevens signed with Columbia Records and released his third solo studio album, Are U Satisfied, which peaked at number 27 on the ARIA Charts. In 1994, Stevens recorded "Don't Knock My Love" with Kate Ceberano for her album Kate Ceberano and Friends and released "Last One Standing For You" with Black Sorrows and a cover of The Temptations' "I Wish It Would Rain" with all proceeds of the song benefiting drought-stricken farmers. In 1996, Stevens released his fourth studio album, Circle. In 1997 Jon recorded a cover of Frankie Goes To Hollywood's "Two Tribes". It was also the time in Australia when Rugby League was going through a change with the split to "Super League". Television hosts, Foxtel, decided to use this song as their theme song for the series.

Stevens co-wrote the official song for the Sydney 2000 Olympics Torch Relay, entitled "Carry the Flame", with Barbara Griffin, who arranged the composition. From 2000 to 2003, Stevens fronted Australian rock band INXS after the death of their lead singer Michael Hutchence. Stevens toured with the band for a year before he was officially announced as their lead singer in March 2002, prior to a 40-city US tour. The Stevens-fronted INXS released a song in 2003 called "I Get Up" but he quit the band in October of that year before an album was released.

In late 2004, Stevens released his fifth studio album, "Ain't No Life For The Faint Hearted", a modern R&B album that features a cover version of The Doors' "Light My Fire'. In 2005, Stevens released "The Works", recorded as part of the Liberation Blue acoustic series, which included tracks from his time in Noiseworks. After a national tour with Ian Moss and Choirboys— "Six Strings & The Works"—he completed a smaller acoustic tour, followed by a short break and an announcement that Noiseworks were preparing to tour again in late September 2007. After two months on the road across Australia, Stevens took a break. In January 2008, Stevens's management confirmed plans for a massive national tour with Ian Moss, Jack Jones and Tania Doko. The tour was entitled 'Let's Get Together' and was scheduled to begin in Melbourne in April 2008, following Stevens's acoustic tour of regional Victoria with Australian country music singer Adam Brand.

In August 2011, Stevens released a new single "Just a Man" to Australian radio. A seventh solo studio album was released in September 2011 on new record label Universal Music Australia, called Changing Times. On 11 November 2011, a new album of soul music cover versions, called Testify!, was also released. In July 2012, Stevens teamed up with production outfit Silver Sneakerz for a dance remix of Noiseworks' 1988 hit "Touch". It was released on dance label Hussle Recordings (a division of Ministry of Sound). They performed the track live on The X Factor Australia on 30 October 2012. In 2013, Stevens contributed the song "Fly" for the Planes (film) soundtrack. Also in 2012, Stevens formed The Dead Daisies with guitarist David Lowy. The two were introduced by David Edwards, ex-manager of INXS. The band's first single was "Lock N Load" featuring Slash, which was released in April 2013. The band's debut album was released in August 2013. In April 2015, the band announced that Stevens was no longer a member of the group.

Stevens signed with Social Family Records and released his ninth studio album titled Woman in September 2015. The album peaked at number 86 on the Australian ARIA Charts. In 2016, Jon Stevens teamed up with Dave Stewart from Eurythmics and they wrote and recorded a new album called Starlight. The first single, "Hold On" was released on 13 February 2017, with the album scheduled for release on 31 March 2017.



No comments:

Post a Comment